Skip to content

June 1: New month, new day, new challenge

June 1, 2011

You’re here!  If you’re here from the 30 Day Challenge, welcome!  It should be an exciting month for us.

If you’re returning from some other place in the blogosphere, be it Facebook, Twitter, email subscription, or you’ve just ended up in my neck of the woods, thanks for being here too!!!  I did miss blogging, although sometimes it can be just one more thing on the to-do list that screams for my attention.  Anyway, it’s certainly a great creative outlet for me when I do it well (which isn’t often enough).

So, forgive me for being wishy-washy.  Some of you bloggers out there seem to do it so well, balancing everything.  Home, family, blogging, crafting, decorating, spending time with the Lord… and you make it look easy!

Me… I’m queen of starting something and not finishing it.  I think it stems from my perfectionist attitude toward everything.  If it can’t be done perfectly, I don’t do it.  I’m really trying to get better at it.  Really!

So, I’m COMMITTING to a 30 Day Challenge, come rain or shine.  It’s quite a fun challenge, really.  You are given different creative ideas and are challenged to take a picture to go along with that challenge each day.  I’ll have the list and link posted for the challenge at the end of this post.

Day One: Self Portrait

I’ve done some self portraits recently thanks to the tutorials provided by Elena at Selfie Magic.  She’s got some GREAT ideas for selfies.  Seeing as I did this selfie during naptime and tried to rescue my hair from its usual ponytail form, this is the best I could do quickly.

It’s not too late… grab your camera, take a self portrait (it can even be an arms length “MySpace” type pic) and go link up with WhitePeachPhoto.  Here are the month’s themes…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2011 8:16 am

    Oh Robin, I’m another member of the ‘I just blog when I can’ club. I started out with great intentions and I absolutely LOVE to blog, but there is this thing called ‘real life’… Believe me, I understand where you’re coming from, girly. I don’t think my DNA includes that ‘I CAN DO IT ALL!’ gene. ; )

    Love the self portrait. : ) You always look amazing. You don’t know what I’d give to have those curls on MY head!

  2. June 1, 2011 8:24 am

    Love it!! You have the most beautiful blue eyes, and that shirt just makes them pop. 🙂 Great first day shot, I’m looking forward to seeing the rest!

  3. June 1, 2011 8:52 am

    I have to agree with the eyes and hair comments above. I wish my hair had some serious body and your eyes are amazing! Your ability to photograph yourself is great, too! It should be an interesting month!
    Happy June!

  4. June 1, 2011 9:26 am

    Well, you know I’m a fan. 😉 I think you look fantastic! Happy for you and your new challenge. Looking forward to seeing all your pics!

  5. June 1, 2011 1:27 pm

    What a fun challenge! I like the commitment. I’ve signed up for the Big Picture, Picture Color class for June. I’m really hoping I can keep it up.

    It’s so hard to do it all and do any of it well, isn’t it? My husband is a bit of a perfectionist and he too has a hard time finishing projects because they have to be juuuust right. I think my problem is that I’m just kind of lazy. 🙂

    Happy June!

  6. June 1, 2011 9:24 pm

    Your hair is incredible! Love your shot 🙂

  7. June 2, 2011 8:34 am

    I love your hair! Gorgeous selfie!

Leave a Reply

