Skip to content

Day 8: A bad habit

June 7, 2011

I’m sure I have many bad habits… but probably none so bad as this.

Hi.  My name is Robin and I am a compulsive ear cleaner.

Yep… at least 2 times (sometimes three) a day I clean my ears.  I restrain myself with my children and only clean theirs once a week.  I realize cleaning ears is a good thing, but if you do it the right way and do not go in the ear canal (which I always do).  One thousand lashes to myself with a wet noodle.

Do I anticipate stopping?  No.  I go absolutely nuts if we’re without cotton swabs for any length of time.  So there… I’ve bared my soul.

Do you have something repulsive, embarrassing, or downright weird that you do?  Would you like to share it with the world?  If so, visit White Peach Photo to link yours up!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2011 8:10 am

    I won’t admit to any terrible habits (not that I don’t have any!), but I do have an ear cleaning story. I have the same method of cleaning my ears, but do restrain myself so I don’t do it nearly so often. Years ago, I met a charming young lady who was almost completely deaf in one ear from, you guessed it, overzealous Q-tip usage. Did that story make me stop? Nope. Did it make me paranoid about cleaning my ears and my daughter seeing me an mimicking with dangerous result? Or startling me and me hurting myself? Yes!
    So, I don’t clean the kids ears with a cotton swab. I wipe wax out with my fingers like Dr. Sears says. I, of course, still use Q-tips on my own ears, but privately. Never with the kids around. Or so I thought. One day recently, I was cleaning my ears in the bathroom, but the door was open. I thought I was out of sight, but my daughter asked if I’d come help her “after I finished using my ear pick.” Kids notice everything!

  2. June 8, 2011 9:31 am

    What do the say ‘Never put anything bigger than your elbow in your ear’! Great Photo

  3. June 8, 2011 9:45 am

    Omg, I am a compulsive ear cleaner too.
    And when I was a little girl I have almost “pierced” my eardrum with one of these!
    Btw, great photo 😀

  4. Jennifer Conger permalink
    June 8, 2011 6:04 pm

    Robin, I think everyone in our family has some sort of OCD, ha! Mine is greasing my lips. I have tubes of lip moisturizer everywhere–in my purse, at my computer, by the bed, in the kitchen, in my car’s ashtray–I’m never far from my grease.

  5. June 8, 2011 11:21 pm

    First, love your new watermark. Nicely done. And second, you and my husband should meet. He is also compulsive about cleaning his ears. Craziness, you people.

Leave a Reply

