Skip to content

Day 10: Childhood Memory/ Friday Favorite

June 10, 2011

I have a lot of good childhood memories.  I was specifically trying to think of something with my brother who died almost 19 years ago, but with a time crunch I wasn’t able to pull off too much.  So, I opted for what I spent my childhood doing most… playing Barbies.

Yep, I played with Barbies… alot.  Probably past the point when a girl should stop. They were, by far, my FAVORITE toys growing up.   I always liked imagining things, dressing her up.  And as warped a body as she has/had, her straight, amazon stick-thin body was easy to dress in those wonderful fashions.

I had a million Barbies and two Kens.  Isn’t that always the case?  My daughter has about 10 Barbie dolls (a couple of generic ones thrown in) and one Ken.  But take a look at him… this may sound weird, but Ken is now “HAWT.”  He looks like a young Brad Pitt.  When I had Ken, he looked like a middle-aged Alan Thicke from Growing Pains.

Here’s redhead Barbie at home with little Kelly in the highchair.  She looks pretty good for a SAHM. 

What’s that?  Is that KEN?  And in a convertible with a brunette Barbie????

To link up your own childhood memory, visit WhitePeach Photo for their 30 Day Challenge.  To link up your Friday Favorite, visit Rachel at Finding Joy.
friday favorite things | finding joy

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2011 9:44 am

    I used to LOVE Barbie dolls! I wish I’d kept mine.
    Cute photos…

  2. June 10, 2011 8:56 pm

    Love it! I haven’t had an excuse to play Barbies for a long, long time.

  3. June 10, 2011 10:50 pm

    oh yes…. I had an enormous barbie collection as well. Did you have the pink corvette? The horse? Fun shots, Robin!

  4. June 10, 2011 11:01 pm

    I love that first photo. So cute.

Leave a Reply

