Skip to content

Miscellany Monday: Sick edition

June 27, 2011

1.  SICK

Yep.  If you are coming here from Facebook or have read some of the posts from June, I’m sick.  Well, here’s the scenario as best as I remember:

Cast of Characters: Dad (William), Me (Robin), Son #1 (Nathan), Daughter (Ashlyn), and Son#2 (Joshua)

Here’s the progression of sickness… (disclaimer… I realize that in the grand scheme of things, what we’re dealing with pales in comparison to so many struggles people have with chronic illness, etc.  This is my blog, however, so let the whining commence).

Week of June 12-18: Joshua gets runny nose, turns into cough.  I get a cough, runny nose.  Joshua then develops a high fever for several days.  Sees pediatrician, he gets diagnosed with bronchitis and gets antibiotics plus a nebulizer for breathing treatments.  In the meantime, Ashlyn and Nathan both have some mild respiratory gunk and are receive neb treatments, too.

Week of June 19-25: Joshua gets tons better.  Nathan develops headache and fever for a couple of days, but then returns back to normal.  Ashlyn develops headache, fever, and then throws in the vomitting factor.  She’s always prone to vomitting.  They get better.  William gets headache, body aches, and pink eye.  I develop pink eye.  Ashlyn develops pink eye.

Week of June 26-now: All three of us still have pink eye.  Trying to decide which one of us is going to go the doctor to get antibiotic eye drops.  Sunday William complains of sore throat.  This morning I woke up with sore throat.

2. DIET

As if I couldn’t make a worse decision during this time, I decided to try to diet.  I’ve lost 4 pounds during the last week.  So, add grumpy to my list of attitudes.

3. PAINTING

I love to do murals, although I’m not beyond novice by any means.  My oldest has been BEGGING me to change his (and his brother’s) room to a rainforest room for about 6 months now.  With school out, I have no excuse.   The good thing… painting keeps my mind off of eating!  This is the only wall I have done.  Of course, as with anything, you learn along the way, so I learned I made the ferns entirely too tall.  Oh well.  The third pic is their closet with a painted bamboo effect and some cheap raffia skirts from the Dollar Tree on top.

4. 30 Day 15 Day Challenge

Yep, I didn’t make it.  Forgive a sister.  Please.  I’ll claim illness as my excuse (see #1)).

5. CARS 2

In the middle of the storm of sickness, there was a day of calm in which no one seemed to be ill (before the pink eye reared its ugly…  eye).  We saw Cars 2.  At the theater.  In 3D.  Don’t even ask what it cost.  We RARELY go to movies in the theater.  It’s just ridiculous costing.  And I didn’t see any Groupon/Living Social deals for it (that is, until afterward).  Oh well.  Cars 2 was okay.  I really liked the first one.  This one was more like a cartoon James Bond movie with the Cars characters thrown in.  Great for my almost 8-year old, but a bit intense for my other two.

There… I made it to five.  Thank you for reading my whining ramblings. 😉
Miscellany Monday @ lowercase letters

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 9:53 am

    I hope you feel better very soon. And pinkeye? no fun at all.

    I’ve been hearing that alot about Cars2 — we might wait till it comes to the cheap theater.

    Rachel

  2. June 27, 2011 10:13 am

    😦 Doggone it, being sick is no way to spend ANY part of your summer! I sure hope everyone gets over the crud soon. There has been a ton of stuff going around here, too, but luckily we’ve managed to escape it so far. We go on vacation starting Saturday so I’m hoping it stays that way. *fingers crossed*

    The murals look positively PERFECT! : ) Love ’em and you’ve done a tremendous job! I’m sure the kids love it.

    Brie took Tucker and Hayden to see Cars 2 and they loved it but quickly informed me that I wouldn’t be able to see it in the theater. I DEFINITELY couldn’t see it in 3D! You’re a brave woman! I can’t even watch Tucker play driving games on his PlayStation2 without getting motion sickness! 😦

  3. June 27, 2011 2:34 pm

    Awww. I hope you all feel better soon. That mural is great. I love the bamboo look. So neat!

  4. June 27, 2011 2:54 pm

    Whine away, sister! That’s a rough month!! But for the record…that is hardly whining. 😉 GET BETTER!

  5. June 28, 2011 12:04 pm

    CUTE ROOM! Girl, I hope you get that house under control. Enough of the sickies! Bless your hearts. 😦

Leave a Reply

