Skip to content

Looking forward…

June 29, 2011

Let me start off by saying… I’m looking forward to the weekend!  And to a new month!

June was, well, stinky.  Alot, alot of sickness here.  For those of you who commented: I’m sorry I haven’t responded yet (I will).  But let’s just say with all the sickness my house is reflecting that.  I’m looking forward to a month that, I believe, will be a much healthier one!

I’m SOOOOOOO excited about celebrating our country’s independence!  Gotta love those fireworks and patriotic things adorned on every building and person.

So in honor of this weekend, I’m trying something new here.  It’s an editing challenge where you take another person’s photo and edit it with your own taste.  It’s fun to see what other people come up with.  I’ve been watching Pioneer Woman’s editing challenges for a while and have also seen some from a lady named Branson over at “My Reflection of Something.”  So… I finally got with it and decided to jump in with this one.  Here’s the before.

The challenge was to edit it however you saw fit then to add text of some sort.  So, here’s my edited version and explanation of how I did it…

I edited this in Photoshop CS4.  First, I did a horizontal flip just because I’m anal and just want to see the flag facing the standard way.  I then cropped it off center to make it more interesting.  I knew I’d be texturing, so did a curves adjustment and made a star the true white.   I then applied a Kim Klaussen texture in overlay (become a member of her weekly email and you’ll get free textures in your inbox).   Then I added a VERY slight yellow fill layer.  I didn’t want it looking too dirty.  I typed the text  in Trajan Pro, 18pt & 36pt, then added Pioneer Woman’s quick edge burn, lowered opacity to 65%.
My Reflection of Something

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 9:29 pm

    Great edit. I love the texture you used!

  2. June 29, 2011 9:44 pm

    I really lovey our edit – everything about it is perfect.

  3. June 30, 2011 9:04 am

    Love that you are jumping in! This is a great edit, Robin! Nicely done. Hope you are all feeling better!

  4. June 30, 2011 10:36 am

    I love that edit! I’m glad you’re joining the fun. you won’t regret it. 😀

  5. July 1, 2011 11:39 am

    I love that you flipped the flag around it seems more natural this way

  6. July 1, 2011 4:14 pm

    I really like the texture, and love the flip in your edit. I tried flipping my edit too, but for some reason it just didn’t look right to me.

  7. July 1, 2011 10:10 pm

    yay for a new month. What an awesome edit. Love it.

  8. July 6, 2011 9:21 pm

    Y’all are making this super hard on me! 😉 Your edit stood out to me in the linky right off the bat… simple, elegant but also very creative! I seriously love your edit, and am so glad you joined in! I hope you will be back again this week!!

  9. July 6, 2011 9:23 pm

    p.s. feel free to add your twitter to my list of photographers who tweet 😉 http://www.myreflectionofsomething.net/p/photographers-who-tweet.html I love finding new people to follow!!

Leave a Reply

