Skip to content

Gloomy but Good

July 11, 2011

Happy Monday morning to ya!  As I try to collect these foggy thoughts of mine, I’m thankful for a new week and for this day that God has given us.  Before I go to tackle Mt. Washmore in my laundry room, I just had to do something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time… join in on the “Good to Wow” meme over at Jill Samter Photography and Ramblings and Photos by Ashley Sisk.

You feature a SOOC shot on a Monday, edit it, then share your “after” on Thursday.  I’m excited to finally be linking up.  Here is a shot from Sanibel Island (no, it’s not shells).  I’ll explain why below…

The theme for this week is “The Sky’s the Limit”

We had a great day at Sanibel Island even though it was quite windy and the water was turbulent and murky.  So, we didn’t really get in the water much.  Also, the shells, for the most part, weren’t just sitting on top of the sand, but if you dug into the sand there was an abundance of them.  Add to that the fact that sand was blowing everywhere, so I got really nervous about having my camera out there for too long and took it back to the car. I still think our beaches are prettier in the Bradenton/Sarasota area, but that’s just my opinion 😉  It’s still good to get away.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2011 9:01 am

    Love the colors in that picture — there is something about an overcast day that creates such unique and beautiful pictures.

  2. July 11, 2011 9:08 am

    I can kinda tell how turbulent it was just by your shot. Can’t wait to see the edit and so glad you linked up!

  3. July 11, 2011 9:53 am

    Nice shot. I look forward to the edit!
    I’m also still jealous that you can take your kids to the beach without a 13+ hour drive. My kiddos have never seen the ocean or any beach besides at Kentucky Lake!

  4. July 11, 2011 9:53 am

    Cool photo. Can’t wait to see your edit.

  5. July 11, 2011 10:41 am

    Great shot,can’t wait to see the edit!

  6. July 11, 2011 3:19 pm

    Wonderful capture! I look forward to your edit!

  7. July 11, 2011 5:00 pm

    That looks like a delightful day- I would take a gloomy day at the beach over a sunny day any place else!

  8. July 11, 2011 5:26 pm

    This pic has so much potential. I don’t blame you for not taking your camera out there for long. So glad you linked up! Looking forward to your edit!

  9. July 11, 2011 9:48 pm

    Love that shot and can’t wait to see what you do with it! That water does look pretty wicked. Our last day at the beach was a little rough, too, so we left for home earlier than planned.

  10. July 12, 2011 12:49 am

    I love how dynamic and stormy this photo is.

  11. July 13, 2011 9:55 pm

    This photo really makes a statement and I love your son pulling the board.

Leave a Reply

