Skip to content

Turbulent wading…

July 13, 2011

I love the ocean.  I really do.

Yes, it often times smells like fish; living or dead, I’m not sure which.

Plus, every time you step into it, you become part of the food chain whether you like to think about those things or not.  Then there are other hazards like stingrays, man o’wars, jellyfish, sea lice, red tide.  Sand gets everywhere.  Your food and drinks get sandy and hot.

But still, even with all those risks you might face stepping foot in the great vastness of God’s creation, there’s something magical about the beach.

Here we have the Gulf.  When I lived on the Atlantic side, natives  were very quick to point out that what they had was the “Ocean” and the West Coast (which I thought meant California until I moved to Florida in 2003… it doesn’t… it means Tampa) is the “Gulf.”   So… I love it all, be it Ocean, Gulf, Sea, or whatever the vernacular is for wherever you are.

This is about as far as the children got into the water at the first beach because mom was neurotic about them getting sucked under they were a little scared of the surf.  I think Ashlyn’s gesture says it all.

and then, she {snapped}

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 8:34 am

    It does look a little rough for little ones! I have a similar pic of my kids at Kentucky Lake- sitting and with wet feet. Yep. That’s close enough. 😉
    I also agree with about how magical the ocean is. I miss it. Tell it I said “hi.”

  2. July 13, 2011 9:57 am

    LOL she just doesn’t look convinced. When I was little, I got turned around in the ocean…it was really scary. Still, to this day, I’m very cautious about going in too far and I definitely hate to stick my head under.

  3. July 13, 2011 10:47 am

    I grew up body surfing in the Atlantic Ocean (I live in Massachusetts) and my girls are being raised the same way. However, they and I have a HEALTHY respect for the ocean and we follow the following safety rules. Everyone sticks together in sets of two (at least!) when in the water. You watch for your partner EVERY time you get done riding a wave. You stay in front of our blanket area. You don’t go further than your waist as waves swell the depth of water. When you get tired – you come sit on the blanket and take a rest. They all also have been taught about RIP tides and how to swim parallel to the shore to get out of them! Even with these safety rules in place – I still stand or sit vigilantly at the water’s edge and take turns with the other adults in our group when I want to body surf. 🙂

  4. July 13, 2011 11:03 am

    I agree with you. I love it all – sea, ocean, gulf… Hope to live closer to it one day. Gorgeous photo of Miss Ashlyn.

  5. July 13, 2011 1:48 pm

    WOW, it does look rough. Cute photo.

  6. Libby Spencer permalink
    July 13, 2011 8:59 pm

    I look forward to your blog each week! You have such a beautiful family!

Leave a Reply

