Skip to content

Edit Me Challenge

July 15, 2011

Okay, let me preface this by saying these things:

1. I got all excited because I was trying to think of different posts I could write on the road when I’m without Photoshop.  I realized that the Edit Me challenge would be posted on Wednesday morning.  I quickly did an edit to it in Photoshop, thought I was being so organized by going ahead and uploading my edit to the blog as a draft, then I’d add the blog text later.  I jotted some notes on how I edited it on a post-it.

2.  Thinking I would be so proud of myself in the future, I stuck the post-it note in the computer bag.

3. Thursday I switched computer bags with hubs because his has a strap and mine is harder to lug around an airport with 3 kids in tow.  Yep.  Me and 3 kids on a flight.

4. My laptop and cord made it.  My post-it note with my editing notes did not.

So, it’s now Thursday night as I’m writing this and I have a SAD step by step on how I think I edited this photo about 36 hours ago.  My post-it is 1000 miles away right now.  The before is the downloaded photo from My Reflection of Something

Before I go any further… isn’t he precious?

BEFORE

AFTER

Okay, I think I…

cropped it, then I used the cloning tool to fix something that was on his little collar, did a curves adjustment, boosted the saturation a tiny bit, did just the eyes portion of Coffee Shop Baby Powder Room (although, looking at this now, I wish I could have kept his eyes a little lighter after the final product because they darkened quite a bit… anyway), sharpened it, then did MCP’s Crystal Clear for Web (I can’t remember the exact name)…

… and forgive me for not linking up the actions.  40 lashes with a wet noodle for me.
My Reflection of Something

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2011 8:37 am

    He is precious. And I like your edit, regardless of how it actually happened. Being “organized and prepared” has often backfired on me, too!
    Are you visiting near the old stomping grounds? I’d love to see you if you are.

  2. July 15, 2011 9:11 am

    This one is very bright and colorful, I like it.

  3. July 15, 2011 10:19 am

    LOL you crack me up but nice edit. Hope you’re having fun!

  4. July 15, 2011 3:56 pm

    Oh boy- I totally hear you when it comes to that lost feeling when you have left something like that behind. 🙂 You did a beautiful job on the edit- It’s perfect!

  5. July 15, 2011 7:15 pm

    Thank you for participating and taking the time to edit this photo of my little man! I love that you cropped it in!

Leave a Reply

