Skip to content

I lied…

July 20, 2011

Well, I said I was taking a couple of days off… I got the laundry done and bags packed for our trip home.  Since home is Eastern time and this part of KY is on Central time (and my flight leaves early tomorrow morning) I was bound and determined to get my kids in bed by 7:00 pm.

It’s 7:40 now Central Time and I’m hearing less talking from the bedrooms.  Hopefully that means they’re drifting off.  Otherwise we’ll have quite the battle come 5:00 am when we’re all up and getting ready to leave. 🙂

So, with the stuff packed, kids in bed… I was itching to get a post up.  I’m on my laptop with no Photoshop… I decide to try my hand at Picnik.  It’s a great program for quick editing online.  It does have some settings like contrast, exposure, sharpening and does have some things that you can get creative with.  So, I decided to try it out on this week’s “Edit Me” challenge from Branson at My Reflection of Something.

BEFORE (photo courtesy Ginger from My Life Just As It Is)

MY EDIT:

I edited this in Picnik… first I adjusted the exposure slightly (the sun was bright on the legs so I didn’t want to blow it out too much).  I then sharpened it a bit, did a cross-processing action (at about 75% I think) and added a vignette.  It was fun to play around with Picnik and see what they had.  The best part about it… it’s FREE! 😉
My Reflection of Something

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 8:55 pm

    Aww. I like it. Great job. 🙂 Hope they are asleep soon.

  2. July 20, 2011 9:12 pm

    Boy. Can’t believe a word you say. ; )
    I like the pic. : ) And I sure hope the kids are sound asleep now so you won’t have trouble getting them up and going in the morning. Safe travels!

  3. July 20, 2011 9:28 pm

    free is good! and great job with the edit!

  4. July 20, 2011 10:38 pm

    What a great and quick edit! Now go off and enjoy yourself!

  5. July 21, 2011 10:15 am

    I have never tried Picnik but glad to know it’s an option when you don’t have the beloved Photoshop. I think it’s a great edit. Very summer!

  6. July 21, 2011 2:40 pm

    Nice edit! I like it a lot. I hope y’all have had a good flight home today and everybody was up and around at 5AM!

  7. July 28, 2011 12:36 pm

    I think it turned out great!! Picnik can be a lot of fun and I use it to do things like borders and drop shadows for buttons because I haven’t learned how to do it any other way, hehe.

Leave a Reply

