Skip to content

Before and After…

May 3, 2010

Okay, I’m learning Photoshop CS4 and am playing around with various pictures.  Some I want to publish and some are just for fun.  Here’s the belated one for last week….

Here’s the before… we were at Busch Gardens a couple of months ago in the chimp section.  Here’s Joshua “in the jungle” with the chimp statues…

Here’s the after…

After adjusting the balance with the histogram, I turned down the red saturation and upped the greens.  It makes the leaves look a bit better.  I also added a vignette (burned-in edge) to create a bit of drama.  If I had more time, I would have adjusted his under-eye circles and worked on his little face a bit, but it’s still a cute picture.  He looks so vulnerable, like “who would leave me in the jungle with these chimps?”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 10:33 pm

    I like it! 🙂 And cute subject 😉

  2. May 4, 2010 6:38 am

    John just ordered me a camera for Mothers Day, and it has a lot of features.. I am not techy savy, but hope to learn how to make some awesome pictures.. so wish me luck…
    I love this one you posted.. he is so cute.. and the green is bright and eye catching.. Plus I think its a law that everyone has to have a Busch Garden picture of each child with the monkeys.. I know i do with all 3 of my children..lol.

    • Robin permalink*
      May 4, 2010 9:02 am

      Thanks guys!

      Karen, what type of camera are you getting? I’m saving for a Nikon D3000 or a Canon Rebel (some type of entry-level DSLR). I get so frustrated with my little point and shoot sometimes, especially with shooting kids. I want to be able to zoom in better on their little faces and have more control over the depth of field.

  3. karen long permalink
    May 5, 2010 12:41 pm

    it is an Olympus Digital 12mp with 15xZoom
    I am excited ,, I love taking picture, and right now i have a FujiFilm and it take good pictures but I want to be able to learn to do more,, so this one is suppose to give me more options.. It is suppose to be here by the 10th so i am counting down the days.. then you will be seeing pictures on my blog and fb,, you will get tired of seeing pictures..lol

Leave a comment